Food Safety & Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) has developed inspection checklist for facilitating Food Safety Officers to efficiently inspect the Food Business Operators FBOs. The inspection checklists are used to identify the level of compliance with each requirement that is set out in the regulation These inspection checklists are based on revised Schedule 4 of Food Safety & Standards (Licensing & Registration of Food Businesses) Regulation, 2011 and have been developed for following sectors -

1.    General Manufacturing
2.    Milk Processing
3.    Meat Processing
4.    Slaughter house
5.    Catering
6.    Retail
7.    Transport
8.    Storage & warehouse

The objections or suggestions, if any, may be addressed as per the attached format to the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India, 03rd Floor, Food and Drug Administration Bhawan, Kotla Road, New Delhi- 110002 or emailed to within 30 days i.e. upto 10 December, 2017 on Inspection Checklists with regard to above mentioned kind of food business sectors

Marking & grading system –

The inspection checklist has been divided into five major sections namely –

  1. Design & facilities
  2. Control of Operation
  3. Maintenance & sanitation
  4. Personal Hygiene
  5. Training & complaint handling

The Food Safety Officer will inspect the facility of the FBO according to the requirements as laid down in the inspection checklist and accordingly will mark the finding as compliance (C), non-compliance (NC), partial compliance (PC) & Not applicable/Not observed (NA). All the requirements are allotted 2 marks and there are few requirements which are asterisk marked (*) which are allotted 4 marks. Non observance to any of the asterisk marked (*) finding will lead to Non-Compliance (NC), as they are critical to food safety.  Each finding will be awarded marks as mentioned below –

S. No.


Marks to be awarded

Marks to be awarded in Asterisk Mark (*) question


Compliance (C)




Non-compliance (NC)




Partial compliance (PC)




Not applicable/Not observed (NA)



Compliance – Yes, the requirement is fully documented and implemented. Adherence with the requirement with no major or minor conformance is observed.

Non-compliance - No, the requirement is not documented and implemented. Non adherence with the requirement with major non - conformance is observed.

Partial Compliance – Requirement is partially implemented but not documented or partially documented but not implemented. A non conformity that, based on the judgement and experience of the FSO, is not likely to result in the failure of the food safety management system or reduce its ability to assure controlled processes or products. It may be either a failure in some part to a specified requirement or a single observed lapse. Partial Compliance is not applicable to asterisk marked (*) requirements as they are critical to food safety.

Not Applicable/Not observed (NA) – Requirements are not applicable to FBO & hence cannot be observed.

Sub-sequentially awarding the marks as per the finding against the requirements, total marks are calculated & based on the final marks, grading of the FBOs is done. The grading has been divided into 4 levels, i.e.



Marks required


Compliance – Exemplar

90% & above


Compliance – Satisfactory

80% - 89%


Needs Improvement

50 % - 79%

No grade

Non Compliance

Below 50%